The Trouble with Destiny Review

The Trouble with Destiny by Lauren Morrill

I’d like to start off by saying that I loved Lauren Morrill’s other book, Meant to Be, so I had high expectations for The Trouble with Destiny. When I first read the plot on GoodReads, I was so excited.
“After the Destiny breaks down, all of Liza’s best-laid plans start to go awry.” (GoodReads Description)
If anyone was expecting a Titanic-esque story, this is not it. The ship has a temporary malfunction. The drama in this book is strictly predictable and typical teen drama. I’m talking love triangles, best friends-turned-enemies, and viral pictures. This book, surprisingly, was extremely similar to The Duff by Kody Keplinger. The plot was just something I had seen so many times, it got boring. The characters were too cliche (the mean, rich, popular girl, etc.)
It’s a very cute book though, once you get past the stereotypical stuff. This is the perfect beach book. It’s all fluff, but if you’re looking for a quick read, look no further. Fans of Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend should enjoy this.
Big shout out to NetGalley and Random House Children’s Books for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
Star Rating: ★★★
Reading Time: a little less 1 ½ hours
Publication Date: December 8th, 2015

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s